City of LaGrange to hold its own municipal elections Tuesday

By Herald-Whig
Posted: Apr. 13, 2017 9:30 am

LaGRANGE, Mo. -- While most Missouri cities and political subdivisions picked officeholders April 4 during statewide municipal elections, LaGrange will have its elections Tuesday, April 18.

This is because LaGrange is one of several remaining "special charter" cities in Missouri, and its charter calls for certain local elections to be held on different dates than other municipalities.

The only polling place -- LaGrange City Hall, 118 S. Main St. -- will be open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All candidates listed on the city's election ballot are running unopposed -- with one exception.

Incumbent Middle Ward council member Ed Cox, who has been on the City Council for the LAST four years, is facing a write-in challenge from Gena Hills, the only person who registered as a write-in candidate, City Clerk and Finance Officer Kim Schneider said.

Hills confirmed she is seeking election. For write-in votes to be counted, she noted, voters must spell her name correctly on the ballot.

Hills, who works as a security officer at Quincy Regional Airport for the Transportation Security Administration, said she is running for office because she wants to "make a difference" in LaGrange.

"I want to see some change," she said. "I want to see businesses come in to town. I want to see road improvements. I want to bring the community together, not against each other."

Cox, a retired truck driver, said he's seeking a third two-year term because he has certain things he'd like to see accomplished in LaGrange.

"My primary mission here is I want to see the riverfront developed," he said.

"Also, many citizens are concerned with the amount of money it's taking to run the Police Department. And I want to continue to make cuts where we can so we can spend more money on improving the town."

All other candidates face no opposition. They are:

º Incumbent Mayor Michael Lowe is seeking a second two-year term.

º Kiley Turnbaugh is running for a two-year term as North Ward council member. She will fill the seat vacated by Jason Kaylor, who did not seek re-election.

º Incumbent South Ward council member Robert Corbin is seeking a full two-year term. Corbin was appointed last year to serve the unexpired term of Tim Kaylor, who resigned.