Prep Girls Basketball

Prep notebook: Griggsville-Perry joins Pittsfield, Pleasant Hill girls basketball co-op

By Herald-Whig
Posted: Aug. 17, 2017 10:00 am

The Pittsfield-Pleasant Hill girls basketball co-op is adding another school.

Low numbers are forcing the Griggsville-Perry girls basketball team to join the co-op this upcoming season. Pittsfield athletic director Brad Tomhave said the addition helps the existing co-op.

"Anytime you can have more numbers in a program, it's an advantage to everybody," Tomhave said. "It allows you to play people at their proper levels."

Tomhave hopes the co-op can get enough girls in the program to field full junior varsity and freshmen teams. That will allow freshmen girls to play a full season against other freshmen, and keeps them from playing in varsity games if they're not developed enough for that level.

"In a perfect scenario, that's what we would have," Tomhave said. "That's what you want to see. The problem is the numbers."

Griggsville-Perry went just 2-24 last winter, and it had seven girls on the varsity roster. Pittsfield went 12-17 and lost in the Class 2A regional semifinals under coach Jeff Shireman.

Hannibal swimmers without pool

The Hannibal boys swim team will not swim this season because of renovations to the pool at the Hannibal YMCA.

The renovations will not be completed in time for the Pirates to have their season.

"When you don't have a pool to swim in, it's obviously difficult," Hannibal athletic director Clint Graham said. "The guys understood and were disappointed we couldn't have it. They all swim at the YMCA so they knew about the renovations.

"It's not ideal, but it's something we have to do this year."

Graham said the swim team, which averages about 10 swimmers each season, will be back swimming next school year.

Illini West track coach wins award

John Artman was named Illinois high school track and field coach of the year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Assoication.

Artman guided the Illini West boys track team to the Class 1A state championship, the first in program history. The Chargers state title victory was by 27 points, the largest margin since track went to the three-class system in 2009.

The award was started in 2014, and is given to coaches based on a number of criteria.

Sign up for Email Alerts