Area student receive scholarships, graduate from college

Posted: Sep. 10, 2011 12:11 am Updated: Jul. 15, 2014 12:15 pm


Lauren Elizabeth Garner, daughter of Patrick and Cheryl Lane of Quincy and Kevin Garner of Springfield, was the recipient of the $1000 Sarah Miner Scholarship at Western Illinois University offered by the Department of Dietetics, Fashion Merchandising and Hospitality. Garner is a senior at WIU and a fashion merchandising major. She is also a member of Kappa Omicron Nu Honor Society and is on the dean's list.

Andrew Hausdorf, son of Leanne and George Hausdorf of Canton, Mo., recently was named an Enterprise Holdings Scholar at Washington University in St. Louis. Hausdorf, a 2011 graduate of Canton R-V High School, entered the university's Olin Business School as a freshman when the fall semester began.


Brittany Kathryn Bigler of Canton, Mo., graduated with honors June 18 from the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising in Los Angeles. She received an associate's degree in beauty merchandising and marketing with an emphasis in business.

Several area students received degrees from the University of Iowa after the spring 2011 semester. They are: McKensey Noel Long of Carthage, bachelor of business administration, marketing; Tyson Lee Purchatzke of Dallas City, bachelor of science in nursing, nursing; Tyler James Reinhardt of Nauvoo, bachelor of business administration, finance; Spencer Gebhardt Heaton of Pittsfield, bachelor of science in engineering, chemical engineering;

Brandi Briana Brink of Quincy, bachelor of science, biology; Brandi Briana Brink of Quincy, bachelor of arts, psychology; Abigail Leigh Mumpower of Quincy, bachelor of arts, Interdepartmental studies; and John M. Reyland Jr. of Quincy, doctor of philosophy, electrical and computer engineering.

Three Quincy residents were among the graduates on May 13 at Illinois College in Jacksonville. Jenna Bentzinger graduated with a bacehlor of arts in education. Brady Frericks graduated with a bacehlor of science in economics. Jamie Poore graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of science in education.


Tara Jennings of LaPrairie, Ashley Hinkamper of Quincy, Jennifer Mays of Quincy and Sullivan Oakley of Quincy were named to the dean's list for the spring 2011 semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wis.

Kristen Nicole Spurrier of Quincy was named to the spring 2011 president's list at the University of Iowa. Brandi Briana Brink, Linna Ming Jie Lam and Spurrier of Quincy and Olivia Marie Kerr of Warsaw were named to the spring dean's list.

Lauren Allen of Plymouth was named to the spring 2011 dean's list at the University of Dubuque.

Tanya M. Sayre of Memphis, Mo., and Mathew A. Straka of Nauvoo were named to the spring 2011 dean's list at Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Tara L Griggs of Stoutsville, Mo., named to dean's list for the May to July 2011 period at Columbia College in Columbia, Mo.

Sign up for Email Alerts