Primary winners emerge, set sights on November races

Posted: Aug. 7, 2012 10:22 pm Updated: Nov. 29, 2014 12:19 am

Herald-Whig Senior Writer

EDINA, Mo. -- Robert Becker won the Republican nomination for Knox County sheriff and will face Democrat Allen Gudehus in November. The two will be vying to succeed long-time Knox County Sheriff Mike Kite, who is not seeking re-election.

Becker out-polled fellow Republican Ryan J. Bishop by a 530-369 margin. Gudehus was the only candidate seeking the Democratic nomination.

County commission races also were featured in Knox County.

Incumbent Western District Commissioner Terry Marble lost his re-election bid to fellow Democrat Roger Parton 112-80. Parton will face Republican James "Jim" Parrish in the General Election.

Robert Lay won the Republican nomination for eastern district commissioner and will face the Democratic incumbent, Terry "Red" Callahan, in November. Lay won the GOP nomination 244-194 over Danny Gibbons.


Clark County

Democratic incumbent Roger Sedore lost his bid to repeat as western district commissioner. Paul Brotherton received 195 votes to beat Ed Knupp with 139 and Sedore with 130.


Monroe County

Treasurer Mary Lynn Powell lost in the Democratic primary to Rita Wilkerson. Wilkerson received 534 votes to 496 for Powell.


Pike County

Eight individuals were seeking the western district seat on the county commission.

Republicans chose Gale Griffith Frolos as their nominee in the General Election. She received 287 votes to 253 for Marianne Everhart and 242 for Jared Henderson.

Jim Luebrecht emerged as the victor from a five-candidate race among Democrats vying for the western district seat. Luebrecht received 329 votes to 144 for Rick Mollerus, 248 for Greg Ellis, 244 for Leo G. Kerns and 48 for Melinda Gosnell.

Seven candidates are running for public administrator. Incumbent Nina K. Long won the Democratic nomination with 680 votes against Roy J. Sisson Jr., 595 votes, Elizabeth Boots-Summers with 114, Terry R. Fuerst with 81 and Trish Turner with 124. Republican Brad Hufty received 880 votes and the nomination over Rebecca Humphrey with 625 votes.

Assessor Donna Dempsey Prior survived a challenge in the Democratic primary. Prior received 903 votes to 643 for Donna Portwood Pederson. On the Republican ballot, Leo Brueggen was the lone candidate.

Incumbent Coroner Jim Turner also won the Democratic nomination over Bill Sterne by a 1,099-443 margin.


Ralls County

R.C. Harlow won the Democratic nomination for eastern district county commissioner by a margin of 377-251 over Kent Arthaud. Steven Whitaker won the Democratic nod for western district commissioner 451-432 over Mike Roberts, setting up a November showdown with Larry Hildebrand, the lone candidate for western district commissioner on the Republican ballot.

Denise Goodwin won the Democratic nomination for coroner over Nick Long, Sean R. Hampton and John C. Hemeyer. Goodwin had 662 votes, to 256 for Long, 405 for Hampton and 94 for Hemeyer.

Paula Evans won 1,249-208 over Kara Berlin-Bates for the Democratic nomination for public administrator.


Scotland County

One vote decided the race between two Republicans seeking the western district commission seat in Scotland County. David Wiggins was declared the winner with 135 votes to 134 for George Frederick. Patty Freburg won the Republican nomination for public administrator 349-100 over Kelly Cochran.


Shelby County

Republican Larry Smoot and Democrat Maurice Shuck will face off in November for the eastern district commission seat. Smooth won his nomination 346-119 over Larry Mayes. Shuck won his nomination 256-130 over John D. Smith.




Sign up for Email Alerts