Ralls County and Knox County elect new sheriffs

Posted: Nov. 7, 2012 9:29 am Updated: Oct. 23, 2014 3:15 pm

Herald-Whig Staff Writer

Challenger Gerry Dinwiddie defeated incumbent Ralls County Sheriff Paul Forney by about 400 votes, one of four Northeast Missouri races featuring that office.

Dinwiddle received 2,676 votes to 2,278 votes for Forney. In Knox County, Democrat Allen Gudehus will replace incumbent Sheriff Mike Kite, who did not seek re-election. Gudehus defeated Republican Robert Becker 1,046 to 930.

Clark County Sheriff Paul Gaudette will serve another term after defeating Democratic candidate Daron (Digger) Dalton, 1,934 to 1,287. Pike County Sheriff Stephen Korte easily earned another term by defeating Democratic challenger Lynn Turner Jr., 4,887 to 2,359.

In Marion County, two incumbents maintained their positions. Coroner Darrell McCoy defeated Republican challenger Harold Rodney Williams, 6,450 tp 5,053, and Western District Commissioner Randy Spratt beat Democrat challenger Bill Goellner, 4,039 to 2,323.

In Clark County, Republican Gloria Ann Hodges defeated Democrat Dixie Regennitter for Public Administrator Linda Sharp's position. Hodges received 1,290 votes to 1,242 for Regennitter. Republican Henry Dienst ousted Eastern District Commissioner Jerry Neyens, 754 to 505.

In Lewis County, Democratic Public Administrator Brett B. Bozarth was re-elected with 2,290 votes, compared to 1,847 for challenger Dennis McCutchan. Coroner Larry Arnold, a Democrat, defeated Republican challenger Brad L. Davis, 2,299 to 1,945, and Southern District Commissioner Jesse Roberts earned another term by beating Republican challenger Jon Simmons, 1,471 to 1,003.

In Shelby County, Democratic incumbent Maurice Shuck will remain as Eastern District commissioner with a 933-866 win over Larry Smoot. Republican Liz Miles will replace Margaret A. Gander as Shelby County assessor after beating Martha (Marti) Wood, 2,203-987. Circuit Judge Frederick Tucker beat back the challenge of Phillip Prewitt, winning by just six votes in Shelby County, but having a 554-vote edge in Macon County.

In Knox County, Eastern District Commissioner Terry "Red" Callahan, a Democrat, will serve another term after beating Republican Robert Lay, 667-377, but Western District Commissioner James Parrish lost to Democrat Robert Parton, 483-424. Republican Theresa L. Hamlin also defeated incumbent Public Administrator Kathy Poor, 1,051-887.

In Pike County, Democrat Jim Luebrecht was elected to serve as Western District commissioner. He collected 2,125 votes to outlast Republican Gale Griffith Frolos' 1,693.

Eastern District Commissioner Curt Mitchell won a three-way race with Republican Walter C. Logan II and Independent Don Gerken Jr. Mitchell earned 1,638 votes, Logan 1,579 and Gerken 188.

Republican Leo Brueggen lost to County Assessor Donna Dempsey Prior 4,941-2,184, and Public Administrator Nina K. Long defeated Republican Brad Hufty, 3,626- 3,553 votes. Chris Kunza Mennemeyer defeated Democratic incumbent Circuit Judge Ben Burkemper.

In Scotland County, Republican David Wiggins defeated Democrat Paul Campbell for Western District commissioner, 509-408.

Monroe County Western District Commissioner Mike Whelan, a Democrat, won 71 percent of the vote against challenger David M. Trainor, winning 1,388 to 562.

In Ralls County, Democratic Western District Commissioner Steven Whitaker garnered 1,399 votes to beat Larry Hildebrand (1,292).


Sign up for Email Alerts