Candidates file for School Board in Brown, Hancock and Pike counties

Posted: Dec. 26, 2012 5:43 pm Updated: Jan. 16, 2013 7:15 pm

Herald-Whig Staff Writer

A lottery on Jan. 2 will decide the top spot on the Western School Board ballot.

Candidates had until 5 p.m. Wednesday to file for the April 9 School Board elections.

In the Western district, seven people are seeking three available seats.

Five candidates — Derek Ross, Inky Shover, Doug McCallister, Shane Fee and Lorc Weir — presented petitions at the same time when the filing period opened on Dec. 17. Shelley Syrcle and Penny Moyer also filed petitions.

Weir, Syrcle and Moyer currently serve on the board.

Filing for School Board seats in other area districts are:



Roger Bullard, Matthew McCaskill and Philip Krupps filed for the three seats. Incumbents Don Kerley and Kyle Long did not seek re-election.



Carthage Elementary -- Trish Markley, Amy Graham, Ryan Blue, Sherry Huston and Brad Gooding filed for the three seats. Markley and Sherry Huston are incumbents; Linda Stoverink did not seek re-election.

Dallas City Elementary -- Betty Blaesing and Jennifer Herriman filed for the three seats. Blaesing is an incumbent; Darren Smith and Richard Douglas did not seek re-election.

LaHarpe Elementary -- Dustin Detherage and Bobi James filed for the three seats. Incumbents Mark Irish, Rex Huston and Darren Spangler did not seek re-election.

Hamilton -- Timothy Dupree and Douglas Summers, both incumbents, filed for the two four-year terms in Montebello Township. Wade Plowman, John Fox and Brad Hartweg seek the two two-year terms from Montebello Township; Hartweg is an incumbent. Nick Capaldo filed for one of the two four-year seats outside Montebello Township.

Illini West -- James Whitaker filed for the Carthage board seat. Shannon Pence filed for the LaHarpe seat. Beth Pence filed for the Dallas City seat. Beth Pence currently serves on the board; incumbents R.D. Trout and Mark Burling did not seek re-election.

Nauvoo-Colusa -- Doran Cox, Michele Snyder, Sandy Stevenson, Tina Poe and Tonja Little filed for the four seats. Cox and Snyder currently serve on the board; incumbents Tony Knipe and Gerri Pack did not run again.

Southeastern -- Rick Ramsey, Steve Bruenger, Jeremy Stephens, Roberta "Bobbi" Smith and Mark Cox filed for the four seats. Ramsey and Bruenger are incumbents; Lyle Paben and Rod Bruenger did not seek re-election.

Warsaw -- Scott Baumann, Jeff Harness and Jason Jacquot filed for the three seats. Baumann and Harness are incumbents; Darrell Althide did not seek re-election.



Griggsville-Perry -- Darren Mowen, Steven Myers and Aaron McCarter filed for the three available seats. Rob Powers, Andy Battefeld and Lori Bradshaw filed for the three available seats. Mowen and Myers are incumbents; incumbent David Risley did not seek re-election.

Pikeland -- Filing were Dennis Wade, Tara Bradshaw, David Barton and Philip Hoover. All four are incumbents. Hoover, appointed to the board in April 2011 when only three people sought the four available seats, seeks to serve the remaining two years of the term.

Pleasant Hill -- Filing for the four seats were Zach Orr, Mike Peebles, Jackie Shireman and Kevin Masters. Peebles, Masters and Orr currently serve on the board; incumbent Irvin Graham did not seek re-election.





Sign up for Email Alerts