Quincy Notre Dame and Unity win WYSE Academic Challenge

Posted: Feb. 22, 2013 6:14 pm Updated: Mar. 30, 2013 2:15 am


Quincy Notre Dame and Unity High School took first place in their respective divisions at the 35th annual John Wood Community College World Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) Academic Challenge regional team competition. Nearly 125 high school students from West Central Illinois participated.

Academic Challenge is a series of tests created for high school students by the WYSE program. The tests are designed to present a challenge to the state's brightest students. The competition is sponsored by the Illinois Society of Professional Engineers and WYSE to encourage recognition of students in science, math and related areas.

Eight high schools were represented in the contest.

Division 300 Teams (enrollment of 300 or fewer students) competing were Central High School in Camp Point, Pleasant Hill High School, Payson-Seymour High School, Southeastern High School in Augusta, Unity High School in Mendon and Western High School in Barry. Unity High School captured first place, Central High School earned second place and Payson-Seymour High School received third place.

Division 700 Teams (enrollment of 301-700) competing were Pittsfield High School and Quincy Notre Dame High School. Quincy Notre Dame captured first place and Pittsfield earned second place.

Schools placing first or second are eligible to advance to sectional competition at Illinois Central College on March 6. Subjects tested include biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics.

Cody Baggett, JWCC registrar and director of career and advising services and Andrew Happekotte, JWCC manager of career and advising services, coordinated the event.

Western High School competed in the at-large category. Those receiving awards in at-large individual categories were º Biology: First, Jasmine Monroe; second, Rachel Snyder; third, Presley Fee

º Chemistry: First, Madison Martin; second, Adam Archambo; third, Clark Keller

º English: First, Madison Martin; second, Ashlynn Schulz; third, Jasmine Monroe

Those receiving awards in varsity individual categories were

Division 300

º Biology: First, Andrew Doyle; second, Kayla Gronewold; third, Mandie Brooks, all of Unity.

º Chemistry: First, Mark Jansen, Unity; second, John Aden, Central; third, Bryson Kramer, Matt Mellon and Audrey Zanger, of Payson Seymour; Brenden Raftery, Western; Gabi Dempsey, Unity; Stephanie Dearwester, Central.

º Computer Science: First, Billy Coonrad and Conner Buss, both of Payson; second, Rachel Corrigan, Southeastern; third, Chekka Bowe, Payson.

º Engineering Graphics: First, Dalton Wear and Gabe Corrigan, both of Unity; second, Matt Miller, Central; Lane Davis, Unity; Billy Coonrad, Payson Seymour; third, Logan Ayers, Central.

º English: First, Thomas Donley, Unity; second, Kelli Zimmerman, Central; third, Anthony Holtschlag, Central.

º Mathematics: First, Dakota Guthrie, Unity; second, Thomas Donley, Unity; third, Ashlan Taylor, Southeastern; Emery Gronewold, Central.

º Physics: First, Tori Hinch, Western; Emery Gronewold, Central; second, Eric Rueb, Western; Dakota Guthrie, Unity; third, Amber Platt and Toby Vincent, of Western; Scott Lentz, Payson; Will Klusmeyer, Unity; Will Johnson, Pleasant Hill; and Stephanie Dearwester, Central.

Division 700

º Biology: First, Frazier Curless, Pittsfield; second, Sam Cook, Quincy Notre Dame; third, Sarah Meidl, Quincy Notre Dame.

º Chemistry: First, Jack Oatey; second, Tyler Reid; third, Kristen Gengenbacher and Tyler Dean, all of Quincy Notre Dame.

º Computer Science: First, Ethan Borrowman; second, Jennifer Robbins, both of Pittsfield.

º Engineering Graphics: First, Josh Dean; second, Cade Hayden; third, Cody Kindle, all of Pittsfield.

º English: First, Sarah Meidl; second, Tucker Reid and Heather Griswold; third, Sam Cook and Samantha Bichsel, all of Quincy Notre Dame.

º Mathematics: First, Eric Eling, Quincy Notre Dame; second, Steve Musholt, Quincy Notre Dame; third, Tyler Reid, Quincy Notre Dame, and Jeremy Mallinckrodt and Ethan Borrowman, both of Pittsfield

º Physics: First, Eric Eling, Quincy Notre Dame; second, Adam Riggs, Quincy Notre Dame and Jeremy Mallinckrodt, Pittsfield; third, Tucker Reid and Steven Musholt, both of Quincy Notre Dame.


Sign up for Email Alerts