Prep Notebook: Spalding, Jarman earn CCC's top honors

Posted: Feb. 27, 2013 1:45 am Updated: Mar. 20, 2013 6:15 am


The Monroe City girls basketball team had one of its finest seasons in program history this year, and senior guard Carly Spalding was the driving force.

Last week, Spalding was named the Clarence Cannon Conference Player of the Year.

Spalding averaged 14.8 points, 5.2 rebounds, 4.6 steals and 3.7 assists per game in helping the Lady Panthers compile a 20-6 record.

Mark Twain senior forward Garrett Jarman claimed CCC Boys Player of the Year honors after he averaged about 20 points per game for the 9-14 Tigers.

Palmyra first-year girls coach Chris Parsons was named the CCC Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Panthers to a perfect CCC record and the conference crown. His Lady Panthers (23-5) won a Class 3 district title on Saturday.

South Shelby's Philip Dunkle earned CCC Boys Coach of the Year honors. Dunkle's Cardinals won the conference with an 8-1 mark and finished 21-6 overall.

In addition to Jarman, area boys players earning first-team all conference selection were Highland's Derick Smith, Palmyra's Trevor Meny and Brock Butler and South Shelby's Wyatt Proper.

Second-team selections included Monroe City's Kyle Fulton, Highland's Brandon Davie, Clark County's Kyle Kovar and Chase Bevans, South Shelby's Andre McClure and Louisiana's Tristan Castiglia and Greg Pitzer.

Honorable mention selections included Highland's Austin Richmiller, South Shelby's Cabe Simpson, Palmyra's Jordan Nutt and Mark Twain's Ethan Anderson.

Area girls players joining Spalding on the first team were Palmyra's Alexis Van Nostrand and Katee Hinkle. Second-team selections included South Shelby's Cassidy Johnston, Palmyra's Evie Miles and Megan Hooper, Mark Twain's Kenzie Grossman, Monroe City's Kiette Mundy and Clark County's Mishaylee Cline.

Honorable mention selections included Highland's Casey Hinkle, Sarah Plant and Ashton Luttrull and Louisiana's Caitlin Bolton and Denise Blackwell.

Hannibal players grab honors: Conference victories were hard to come by for the Hannibal boys and girls basketball teams this season, but that diminish the seasons compiled by senior Dalton Powell or junior Lauren Holliday.

Powell was a first-team All-North Central Missouri Conference selection on the boys side earlier this week, while Holliday was a second-team All-NCMC selection on the girls side.

Liberty team gets enshrined: The 2005 Liberty boys basketball team supplied plenty of thrills. That squad won regional and sectional titles in overtime before beating Farmington 52-51 in the super-sectional to advance to the Class A state tournament. The Eagles wound up finishing fourth in the state and finished 30-4 overall.

The 2005 team, coached by Jeff Kasparie, was inducted to the Liberty Hall of Fame earlier this month. Team members were Josh Baucom, Justin Brock, Justin Carl, Gavin Huber, Travis Knuffman, Richard Markey, Andrew Mast, Ty Meyer, Justin Obert, Wade Pellman, Andy Seals, Bryan Schullian, Chris Starnes, Joe Starnes and Kyle Terstriep.

Starnes was also inducted based on his individual achievement on the basketball court. Starnes earned all-tournament selections at the Suns Classic and Mississippi Valley Invitational Tournament before being named a second-team all-tournament selection at the 2005 state tournament.

Starnes made a 3-pointer with four seconds remaining in overtime to help Liberty beat Triopia 74-71 in the regional championship in 2005. He averaged 13.5 points per game his senior season and was a first-team all-area selection by The Herald-Whig. He went on to play four seasons at Quincy University.

College decisions: Illini West's Holly McDowell signed last week to play volleyball at Culver-Stockton College. … Quincy Notre Dame's Lexie Broemmer signed earlier this month to play women's golf for Quincy University. … Hannibal's Jahwaun Cassidy signed earlier this month to play football for NAIA's Missouri Valley.




Sign up for Email Alerts