Pike voters face municipal races, one School Board contest

Posted: Mar. 22, 2013 2:42 pm Updated: Apr. 5, 2013 4:15 pm

Herald-Whig Staff Writer

PITTSFIELD, Ill. -- Pike County voters will decide several municipal races and one School Board contest on April 9.

Seven candidates vie for four seats on the Western School Board, the only contested school race in the county.

On the ballot are Lorc Weir, Inky Shover, D. Shane Fee, Derek Ross, Doug McCallister, Shelley Syrcle and Penny Moyer. Weir, Syrcle and Moyer currently serve on the board.

Across the county, there are contested races for municipal offices including:

º In Barry, former city administrator Shawn Rennecker and Alderman Gary Wycislo vie for mayor, and Charles Bruce Kendall and Chris Little square off for the Alderman Ward B seat.

º Griggsville has three aldermanic races with incumbent Steve Kessinger facing a challenge from Robin L. Hobson in Ward 1, Mike Bradshaw facing Wayne Reel in Ward 2 and Carolyn Sims against incumbent Jennifer Craven in Ward 3.

º Hull Village Clerk Tonya Pinkston faces a challenge from Sheila Wood.

º Kinderhook voters will choose between William R. Grimsley Jr. and Charles Scranton for Mayor and incumbent Christine Kroencke and Rona Carder-Riley for clerk.

º In Nebo, Village President Kenneth L. Hubbard faces a challenge from H. Dean Spann and Aldermen Sheldon Howland and Robert Jones. Five candidates -- Matthew Guthrie, David Shonhart, Bradley Shawn Guthrie, Diana Franklin and Leigh Crane -- seek the three trustee seats.

º Pearl voters will choose between Timothy M. Fulmer and Johnny B. Patton for village president, incumbent Julia Hatcher and Beatrice J. Patton for clerk and 10 candidates -- Lois Stewart, Trent Colvin, Danny L. Guthrie, Larry L. Cox, Robert Lemerande, James T. Ward, Kevin J. Patton, Michelle Riley, Melissa Campbell and James. W. Robinson -- for three trustee seats. Stewart and Campbell already serve as trustees.

º In Pittsfield, Kenneth G. Yelliot and Harold "Buzz" Ward vie for the Alderman Ward 1 seat, and incumbent Richard Ervin is a write-in candidate.

º Pleasant Hill will have a new village president with Ernest Winchell and James W. Leeds vying for the job.

Other municipalities don't have enough candidates on the ballot.

No one filed for president, clerk, trustee or for an unexpired two-year trustee term in Detroit, and in New Canton, no one is on the ballot for mayor, clerk or an unexpired term on the town board with only one person seeking the three available trustee seats.

County Clerk Donnie Apps said it's happened before that no one runs for office in a community.

"The way it's set up is the people serving now continue to serve until they appoint people to take their place or until the next election," Apps said. "That's the way it's provided for in the Election Code."





Sign up for Email Alerts