BJ Berhorst - Quincy Herald-Whig | Illinois & Missouri News, Sports

BJ Berhorst

Posted: Updated:

Ask BJ Berhorst what he does for fun and he'll describe his family life.

"We're pretty busy. My son swims and does gymnastics and soccer and basketball and all the other fun things that 6-year-olds do," Berhorst said.

In addition to a son, Berhorst and his wife, Lisa, have a 3-month-old daughter, and they're in the process of adopting.

"I think family is the most important thing" and he wants to instill "high values" in his children.

One of the people who nominated Berhorst for recognition in 20 Under 40 told how her co-worker was the first -- and for a time the only -- employee in the Quincy Medical Group's Behavioral Health Department. Now the department has more than 20 employees who provide direct counseling, stress management advice and other support for patients and their families.

Berhorst not only supervises the department, he is the social worker for QMG's home dialysis unit and for cardiac rehabilitation.

BIO

Age: 33

Family: Wife, Lisa; son, Royce, 6 years old; and 3-month-old daughter, Temprance; currently in the process of expanding our family through adoption.

Education: Canton High School; bachelor's in business administration and psychology from Culver-Stockton College in 2002; master's in social work from Saint Louis University in 2004; and a master's degree in business administration from William Woods University in 2006.

Community involvement: Alumni adviser of Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity at Culver-Stockton College; Adams County Children's Mental Health Partnership; United Way mental health committee; Vermont Street United Methodist Church; Red Cross, support my son's school and activities.

Q&A

What is your job, what do you do and what do you like best about it? I am the director of behavioral health at Quincy Medical Group. I oversee a department providing mental/behavioral health therapy to kids, adults and families; occupational and speech therapy to kids; and global assessments/pediatric neuropsychological testing. I also provide counseling and social work services to behavioral health patients as well as dialysis and cardiac rehab. I like working for a great organization with strong values and having an amazing team of co-workers whom are also passionate about helping others.

What is a typical workweek like? Very busy. I am usually scheduled to see several individuals and families for therapy as well as attending meetings and planning for behavioral health growth. When I get home, it is dinnertime. I hang out with the kids for a bit and then it's bath and bed time. Then I get to spend time with my wife watching television.

What was your first job, and what do you remember about it? Working as a lifeguard at SunNSurf swim club in Canton at age 15. I remember thinking work doesn't seem that bad.

How do you balance everything? I have an amazing wife and family. Good organization skills are key.

Which person has influenced you the most and why? My mother has always told me anything is possible and has always supported me. She demonstrated that hard work pays off.

Have you ever failed at something? How did you recover? Well, I don't consider it a failure if I worked hard and learned from it. But if something didn't turn out as I expected, having a strong and supportive network of family and friends always helps.

What does success mean to you? Working hard to help others and being happy.

What was your proudest professional moment? Seeing the success and growth of the behavioral health department at QMG, working with a great team of professionals and helping so many people. It is also great to see the success/turnaround of a patient and know that I may have helped.

What is your favorite stress-buster/leisure time diversion? My favorite activity would be spending time with my family. We are often singing along with the radio while in the car. I also like to do focused breathing or guided relaxation when dealing with increased stress at work.

What is the biggest need in your community? Awareness and acceptance of behavioral health issues.

What gives you reason for optimism in your community? I see so many good people in the area working to help others.

If you could go back in time and give advice to yourself when you were in high school, what would it be? Take more time to help others and not spend as much money.

If you weren't working for Quincy Medical Group, what would you be doing? I would definitely be a stay-at-home dad.

If you could add a few more hours to the day, how would you spend them? More time enjoying my family. It seems we are so rushed from the time we get off work till bed time.

Do you live by any mantra or saying? If you do the right thing for the right reasons it will always work out.

Career aspirations aside, name one thing you definitely want to accomplish in your lifetime. I want to grow old with my wife, watching our children achieve success.

 

  • Local HeadlinesLocal HeadlinesMore>>

  • Christmas of 1997 remains special for Good News family -- for multiple reasons

    Christmas of 1997 remains special for Good News family -- for multiple reasons

    Sunday, November 23 2014 12:02 AM EST2014-11-23 05:02:21 GMT
    QUINCY -- Debbie Sanders Lewis will never forget the Christmas of 1997. It turned out to be the final Christmas for her son, Tyson, a special-needs child who died the next year at age 7. That particular Christmas also was memorable because Lewis and her two children were beneficiaries of The Herald-Whig's Good News of Christmas campaign, which came to their aid while the family was struggling through rough times.
    QUINCY -- Debbie Sanders Lewis will never forget the Christmas of 1997. It turned out to be the final Christmas for her son, Tyson, a special-needs child who died the next year at age 7. That particular Christmas also was memorable because Lewis and her two children were beneficiaries of The Herald-Whig's Good News of Christmas campaign, which came to their aid while the family was struggling through rough times.

  • Last in a Series

    Under the Influence: Change in processing offenders helps lead to reduction of DUIs in Adams County

    Under the Influence: Change in processing offenders helps lead to reduction of DUIs in Adams County

    Friday, November 21 2014 11:18 AM EST2014-11-21 16:18:34 GMT
    As the number of drunken driving cases reaching her desk continued to grow, Jennifer Cifaldi decided something needed to be done to stem the tide. Cifaldi, an assistant state's attorney who handles traffic offenses, went to Adams County State's Attorney Jon Barnard. The result was the institution of a DUI search warrant program. Starting in 2008, the county began to get search warrants for those suspected of DUI who refused to submit to a Breathalyzer test.
    As the number of drunken driving cases reaching her desk continued to grow, Jennifer Cifaldi decided something needed to be done to stem the tide. Cifaldi, an assistant state's attorney who handles traffic offenses, went to Adams County State's Attorney Jon Barnard. The result was the institution of a DUI search warrant program. Starting in 2008, the county began to get search warrants for those suspected of DUI who refused to submit to a Breathalyzer test.
  • Culver-Stockton group gearing up for 10-day educational trip to London

    Culver-Stockton group gearing up for 10-day trip to London

    Sunday, November 23 2014 12:29 AM EST2014-11-23 05:29:58 GMT
    Twenty-two students, three educators and one staff member will represent Culver-Stockton College on a 10-day educational tour of London next month. David Carrothers, an assistant professor of criminal justice taking part in the trip, said a wide array of academic and cultural experiences is being arranged for the group each day.
    Twenty-two students, three educators and one staff member will represent Culver-Stockton College on a 10-day educational tour of London next month. David Carrothers, an assistant professor of criminal justice taking part in the trip, said a wide array of academic and cultural experiences is being arranged for the group each day.

  1. QUINCY -- The Rev. Ivan Greuter is admittedly excited about beginning his third year as president of the Quincy Area Ministerial Association.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Quincy Herald-Whig. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.