Cory files for Adams County treasurer, five in race for 18th District seat

By Herald-Whig
Posted: Dec. 4, 2017 5:40 pm Updated: Dec. 4, 2017 9:15 pm

QUINCY -- Bryden Cory has filed as a Republican candidate for Adams County treasurer.

Cory hopes to fill the office that Treasurer Terry Asher, a Republican, has held for seven years. Asher, 61, announced last week that he would not seek a third term in office.

Illinois election filings ended with the close of business Monday. The filing period began Nov. 27, with people filing that day securing top spots on the March primary ballots.

Political parties will have the option of slating candidates early next year.

Adams County Sheriff Brian VonderHaar has filed for re-election to his first full term. The Democratic incumbent won a two-year unexpired term after Brent Fischer left to take a state job. VonderHaar, appointed as sheriff when Fischer departed, was elected over Republican Jon McCoy in 2016.

Adams County Clerk and Recorder Chuck Venvertloh, a Republican, will seek a second four-year term.

A full slate of candidates has filed for Adams County Board. Most are incumbents.

In District 1, Republicans Bret Austin and Steve DeMoss are seeking re-election. Ryan Niekamp and Ryan Hinkamper, both Republicans, are seeking re-election in District 2.

Dave Bellis and Raquel Piazza, both Republicans, are running in District 3. Bellis is an incumbent, and Piazza was appointed to the board in September to fill the seat that Todd Degitz vacated when he moved from the district.

Incumbents Kent Snyder and John Heidbreder, both Republicans, are seeking re-election in District 4. Taylor Rakers, a Republican, is seeking election to a two-year unexpired term in District 4. Rakers was appointed in October after Alex Drummond moved from the district.

In District 5, Mark Peter, a Republican, and Matt Obert, a Democrat, have filed for re-election. In District 6, Republicans John Brady and Seldon Totsch are seeking re-election.

In District 7, Theresa Bockhold, a Republican, is seeking re-election, while David J. Hoskins, a Republican, is running for the seat that will be vacated when Duane Venvertloh's term ends.

In state filings, two Republicans and three Democrats are running for U.S. representative in the Illinois 18th Congressional District.

U.S. Rep. Darin LaHood, R-Dunlap, filed for re-election to the seat he has held since 2015. Another Republican, Donald Ray Rients of Benson, has filed for the seat. Rients ran in the special election for the congressional seat in 2015.

The three Democrats who have filed for the congressional race are Brian J. Deters, a Quincy native now living in Morton, who filed Nov. 27 to secure the top spot in his party's primary; Junius Rodriguez of Eureka, who challenged LaHood in 2016 and who filed Thursday; and Darrel Miller of Danvers, who filed Monday. Miller had run unsuccessfully for the seat against former U.S. Rep. Aaron Schock.

Another primary race is shaping up in the 93rd Illinois House District.

Two Republicans, state Rep. Norine Hammond of Macomb and Joshua L. Griffith of Abingdon both filed to run for the seat Nov. 27. Democrat John Curtis of Macomb, who challenged Hammond last year, filed his candidate petitions Wednesday.

State Rep. Randy Frese, R-Paloma, filed for re-election in the 94th House District and state Sen. Jil Tracy, R-Quincy, filed for re-election in the 47th Senate District.

State Rep. "Christopher" C.D. Davidsmeyer, R-Jacksonville, filed for re-election Nov. 27. He will face Jonas Hicks Petty of Pittsfield in the March primary election.

State Sen. Sam McCann, R-Carlinville, did not file for re-election to the 50th Senate District seat he has held since January 2011. Steve McClure, a Republican from Springfield, filed his petitions Nov. 27.

Regional Superintendent of Schools Jill Reis, R-Quincy, filed for re-election as to the position, which serves Adams, Brown, Cass and Morgan counties.