Quincy News

Nominations sought for 67th annual Golden Deeds award

By Herald-Whig
Posted: Mar. 10, 2019 12:01 am Updated: Mar. 10, 2019 10:04 am

QUINCY -- The Quincy Exchange Club is giving people an opportunity to recognize someone who has been a selfless volunteer or has worked tirelessly on behalf of the community.

The club will present its 67th annual Golden Deeds award during a luncheon May 10 at the Elks Club. The club is accepting nominations through April 5.

The Book of Golden Deeds is the most distinguished award the Exchange Club presents each year.

Husband and wife Kevin and Pat Steinkamp received last year's Golden Deeds Award. The Steinkamps are just the second husband and wife honored, joining Isabelle and Bernie Willer, who were selected in 1995. The Steinkamps were singled out for their contributions to the Special Olympics in numerous areas for more than three decades. Their involvement has seen them work with participants as young as 9 and as old as 74.

"It's just something we've always done and enjoyed," Kevin Steinkamp said at last year's ceremony. "It's all about helping the athletes."

Past recipients have made a positive impact in various ways on the lives of many people in Quincy. The award is called the Book of Golden Deeds because letters, written on behalf of the recipient by those who have firsthand knowledge of their efforts, are placed in a book.

Nominees may be anyone who has made Quincy a better place to work and live. They may be the person who leads a worthy cause or quietly goes about volunteer efforts behind the scenes.

Nominations may be on a form at QuincyExchangeClub.org; by letter sent to Golden Deeds Award, P.O. Box 1163, Quincy, IL 62306; or by email to Exchange Club member Cullan Duke at dcd@klingner.com.

Include your name and the name of the nominee along with the deed or deeds on which the nomination is based.

Past winners

2018: Kevin and Pat Steinkamp

2017: Margaret Andrews

2016: Jack Mackenzie

2015: Phil Conover

2014: Patty Adam

2013: JoAnn Witte

2012: Hazel Mills

2011: Tom Behrens

2010: Phyllis Smith

2009: Kevin Curran

2008: Jerry Mast

2007: Ada Himes

2006: Bill Hageman

2005: Herb Wellman

2004: Randy McFarland

2003: Linda Dillman

2002: Betty Wiewel

2001: Melvin Koch

2000: Harold Phillips

1999: Raymond Hinkamper

1998: Carl Landrum

1997: Russell Hess Sr.

1996: Thomas Gott

1995: Isabelle and Bernie Willer

1994: Roger Mohrman

1993: Arlene Foley

1992: Martha Muegge

1991: Thomas Awerkamp

1980: Marjorie Hudson

1989: Wilhelmina (Billie) Brod

1988: Donald Heckenkamp

1987: Joanne Ortwerth

1986: George Parsons

1985: Marie Sloan

1984: Mary Ann Gullen

1983: Carlene Geisler.

1982: Minnie Schlinkman

1981: Doris Penington

1980: Mrs. John French

1979: Betty Pracht

1978: Kathleen Peters-Druffel

1977: R.S. Brackman

1976: Ethel Fletcher

1975: Joe Bonansinga

1974: Ruth Logan

1973: Genevieve Klingele

1972: Howard Wear

1971: Ralph Meyers

1970: Edward Altmix

1969: Thomas Oakley

1968: Helen Smith

1967: Irma Jones

1966: George Durst Sr.

1965: Deloris Hase

1964: Ralph "Doc" Wiegmann

1963: Mary McAllister

1962: Dr. Harold Swanberg

1961: Helen Jarrett

1960: James Primrose

1959: C.H. Swinehart

1958: Fabiola Moorman

1957: Lawrence Steinkamp

1956: John Inghram Sr.

1955: Eugene Kirkpatrick

1954: Mabel Ahern

1953: Harry Love

Things to Do