Prep Boys Track

Cardinals' Wood wins long jump state championship

South Shelby's Brock Wood
Posted: May. 18, 2019 1:00 am Updated: May. 18, 2019 1:09 am

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Brock Wood's medal haul has officially begun.

The South Shelby senior qualified for the Class 2 state track and field championships in four events and positioned himself well to be near the top of the podium in each. He's already reached the top once.

Wood won the long jump with a leap of 22 feet, 9.25 inches, edging Skyline's Tanner Swearingen by just a quarter of an inch. Wood hit his winning mark on his third try, and since he was jumping behind Swearingen, he also able to pass on his final three attempts and maintain his advantage.

Monroe City senior C.E. Talton finished fourth in the jump, hitting 22-1.75.

Wood also qualified for Saturday's finals in three other events. He posted the top time in the 110-meter hurdles at 15.09 and was second in the 300 hurdles at 39.75. Wood and Hayti's Tylor Wooden (39.52) were the only hurdlers to break 40 seconds in that event. He also qualified second in the 200 dash in 22.51.

Three other area athletes earned medals on the first day of the event.

Clark County junior Trevor Schorr finished second in the discus with a toss of 157-5. Monroe City junior Dalton McAfee finished fourth in javelin at 153-4. And Clark County junior Nathan Frazee took fourth in the 1,600 run in 4:33.58.

Two individuals and three relay teams will run in the finals Saturday.

Clark County junior Caleb Lapsley qualified second in the 100 dash in 11.07, while Monroe City senior Blake Hays qualified third in the 400 dash in 49.57.

The Monroe City 4x400 relay team of Zach Osborn, C.E. Talton, Josiah Talton and Hays posted the fastest time in the preliminaries at 3:29.15. The Panthers' 4x200 relay team of Osborn, Keenan Batsell, C.E. Talton and Hays qualified second in 1:31.22.

The Highland 4x200 team of Chance Newton, Kaden Koch, Jacob Klocke and Drew Mallett qualified fifth in 1:33.02.

In the 4x100 relay, Koch, Mallett, Klocke and Newton qualified eighth in 44.30.